FXCM review: the verdict.
Launch formula: 60% hard data, 40% outside ratings. Verified reviews from our traders replace outside ratings as they come in.
I trade standard lots of EUR/USD a month.
Who licenses FXCM.
Licences as FXCM lists them. A tick means we found the entity on the regulator's own register.
| Regulator | Tier | Entity | Licence no. | On register |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FCA | TIER 1 | Stratos Markets Limited | 217689 | Not yet checked |
| CySEC | TIER 2 | Stratos Europe Limited | 392/20 | Not yet checked |
| ASIC | TIER 1 | Stratos Trading Pty. Limited | AFSL 309763 | Not yet checked |
Published EUR/USD costs.
| Account | Spread | Commission | Cost / lot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard (spread-only) | — | $0 | — |
| Active Trader | — | — | — |
Cost per standard lot = spread in pips × $10 + round-turn commission. Brokers publish “typical”, “average” or “from” spreads; “from” figures flatter the broker.
The fine print.
Traded with FXCM? Prove it.
Verified reviews open soon. Reviews backed by a statement, a read-only MT4/MT5 login or a withdrawal receipt count up to 3× more, and every verified review enters the weekly 100 USDT draw.
Outside rating used for now: Trustpilot 4.6 from 987 reviews.
- accounts: www.fxcm.com/markets/trading-details/spread-costs/
- platforms: www.fxcm.com/markets/accounts/active-trader/
- regulators: www.fxcm.com/markets/
- trustpilot: www.trustpilot.com/review/fxcm.com
- max leverage: www.fxcm.com/markets/help/new-accounts-what-is-the-maximum-leverage-th
- regulators uk: www.fxcm.com/uk/
- payment methods: www.fxcm.com/markets/deposit-funds/
- eu uk leverage cap: www.fxcm.com/uk/help/trading-basics-how-much-default-leverage-does-fxc
- inactivity fee note: www.fxcm.com/markets/inactivity-fee/
- restricted countries note: www.fxcm.com/markets/open-account/
Research notes: FXCM is now part of Stratos Group; global clients served by unlicensed SVG entity Stratos Global LLC. Max leverage 1:1000 on FX majors for new accounts, reducing to 1:400 above $5k funding and 1:100 (FX) above $50k. Open-account page separately mentions 30:1 default for majors - conflicting. Spread table on site renders as template placeholders, so no EUR/USD figure. Active Trader is commission-based (amount not published; rate card PDF blocked). Min deposit not stated. Founding year not stated on pages read.
Spotted something wrong? Brokers and traders can request a correction through our submissions form; we check every change against the source.